Michael Karmis SOMP PhD Fellowship Award

Award Description

The Michael Karmis SOMP PhD Fellowship Award, established in 2019, recognizes a SOMP junior member who desires to pursue an academic career by acquiring a PhD in the field of Mining Engineering and/or Mineral Processing. The award shall consist of a cash gift (1,000 euros) and certificate. One award shall be presented (subject to suitable candidates) at the SOMP Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Section 1. Qualifications and Eligibility
The Michael Karmis SOMP PhD Fellowship Award is strictly limited to SOMP junior members who are currently enrolled or have been formally admitted in a PhD degree granting program with emphasis on Mining Engineering and/or Mineral Processing.

Section 2. Application Requirements
Applicants are required to submit the following information:

  • Curriculum vitae
  • Proof of PhD enrollment
  • Statement on short and long term career objectives, and motivating factors for seeking a career in academia (max one page)
  • Three (3) letters of recommendation from active SOMP members (there shall be one letter from the applicant’s PhD advisor).

Section 3. Recipient Selection
The Fellowship Award Selection Committee will conduct: (1) a review of the applications, and (2) a formal interview of the top three candidates through video conferencing. Once the final candidate has been selected, her/his name will be submitted to the SOMP Council for final approval. Results of the review and rankings are strictly confidential and will not be released. The award recipient must be willing to present himself/herself in person to receive the award at the SOMP AGM, and give a presentation on his/her PhD research.

Section 4. Allowable Fellowship Award Expenses
The Fellowship Award funds are intended to cover the research related expenses, or to be used for traveling expenses to the SOMP AGM.


November 1: Due date for submission of applications
November 15: Award Committee begins review of applications
January 15: Interviews are conducted for top three candidates
February 1: Award Committee submits recommendation to SOMP Council
February 15: SOMP Council notifies award recipient
June/July: Recipient recognized at SOMP AGM

2023-2024 Award Committee

  • Assoc. Prof. Emily Sarver, Virginia Tech, USA, Coordinator
  • Prof. Elisabeth Clausen, RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Prof. Oscar Jaime Restrepo Baena, Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Colombia

Winner List

2020 (presented in 2021) Natalija Pavlovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia
2021 Juan Monsalve, Virginia Tech, USA
2022 Alexandra Radl, RWTH Aachen, Germany
2023 Dr. Amy McBrayer, South Dakota School of Mines, USA